We use cookies to help give you the best experience on our website. By continuing without changing your cookie settings, we assume you agree to this. Please read ourprivacy policy

Film London Jarman Award 2022 shortlisted artists announced

We are excited and pleased to announce that one of the artists selected for shortlist this year is Onyeka Igwe.

Jarman_2022 / Film London

Onyeka Igwe, is an artist and researcher and a Visiting Tutor at Ruskin.


Now in its fifteenth year and inspired by Derek Jarman, the prestigious £10,000 Jarman Award prize celebrates the pioneering work of the UK’s foremost artist filmmakers.

The Jarman Award has built an enviable reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Heather Phillipson, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Oreet Ashery, Duncan Campbell, MonsterChetwynd, LukeFowler, Imran Perretta, Charlotte Prodger, Laure Prouvost, Elizabeth Price, James Richards, and Project Art Works all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or to win the Turner Prize.

The winner of the Jarman Award will be announced the week of 21st November 2022. In the run-up to the event, art and film lovers can explore the work of the shortlisted artists through a nationwide touring programme presented in partnership with a variety of our cultural venues, including the Whitechapel Gallery.

The Jury who selected this year’s shortlist are: Iwona Blazwick OBE, Emeritus Curator, Whitechapel Gallery; Matthew Barrington, Cinema Curator, Barbican; Shaminder Nahal, Commissioning Editor, Arts and Topical, Channel 4; Artist and 2021 Jarman Award Winner, Jasmina Cibic and Nicole Yip, Chief Curator, Nottingham Contemporary and Film London Board Member.