Daria Martin wins the Jarman Award 2018

Daria Martin, Professor of Fine Art at the Ruskin School of Art (and Fellow of Fine Art at St Joh's College, Oxford) was announced the winner of the 2018 Film London Jarman Award.
D. Martin, 'A Hunger Artist' (still), HD film, 15 minutes, 2017 Photograph: Daria Martin

The School is particularly delighted about Daria's success; this is the second consecutive year that a Ruskin faculty member has won: the Award was given in 2017 to the Ruskin's Associate Professor of Fine Art, Oreet Ashery.

Daria Martin was chosen from a distinguished shortlist of artists featuring Larry Achiampong & David Blandy, Jasmina Cibic, Lawrence Lek, Hardeep Pandhal and Margaret Salmon.

You can find out more about Daria's prize-winning work in this article by the Guardian's Tim Jonze.

Daria Martin

The Film London Jarman Award is a prestigious annual prize which recognises and supports the most innovative UK-based artists working with moving image, and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers.

Worth £10,000, the Award has a reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Duncan Campbell, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Luke Fowler, Elizabeth Price (also formerly of the Ruskin) and Laure Prouvost, all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or win the Turner Prize.

Launched in 2008 and inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman, the Jarman Award is unique within the industry in offering both financial assistance and the rare opportunity to produce a new moving image work.

For further information about the Jarman Award, please see: http://flamin.filmlondon.org.uk/2018-jarman-award