Oreet Ashery wins the Jarman Award 2017

The Ruskin is thrilled that our newly-appointed Associate Professor of Art, Oreet Ashery, has won the prestigious Jarman Award 2017, which celebrates and supports UK-based artists working with moving image.

Oreet's win of the 2017 Film London Jarman Award was announced on 20 November 2017 at a celebratory event at the Whitechapel Gallery. The prize is worth £10,000. Channel 4 also supports the award by commissioning all the shortlisted artists to produce new films for their acclaimed Random Acts arts strand.

You can find out more about Oreet's prize-winning work in this article by the Guardian's Adrian Searle, and Oreet's own thoughts about her success in this witty interview.

Oreet was one of six shortlisted artists, alongside Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Marianna Simnett, Adham Faramawy, Melanie Manchot and Charlotte Prodger in this, the tenth edition of the award.

The Film London Jarman Award is a prestigious annual prize which recognises and supports the most innovative UK-based artists working with moving image, and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers.

The Award has a reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Duncan Campbell, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Luke Fowler, Elizabeth Price (also formerly of the Ruskin) and Laure Prouvost, all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or win the Turner Prize.

Launched in 2008 and inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman, the Jarman Award is unique within the industry in offering both financial assistance and the rare opportunity to produce a new moving image work.

For further information about the Jarman Award, please see: http://filmlondon.org.uk/news/2017/november/oreet_ashery_wins_10th_film_london_jarman_award