We use cookies to help give you the best experience on our website. By continuing without changing your cookie settings, we assume you agree to this. Please read ourprivacy policy

Call for expressions of interest: British Academy Postdoctoral Fellowships (deadline 16 August 2021)

British Academy Postdoctoral Fellowships The Ruskin School of Art at the University of Oxford invites expressions of interest from postdoctoral and completing graduate scholars who wish to apply for the British Academy Postdoctoral Fellowship scheme, for entry in 2022

Detail of the site at 75 High Street

The Fellowships are designed to enable outstanding, recent postdoctoral scholars in the Humanities or Social Sciences to obtain experience of research and teaching in the university environment for a period of three years, to strengthen their research and teaching track record and to improve their prospects of obtaining permanent posts by the end of the fellowship.  The remit of BA funding schemes does not include primarily practice-based outputs such as visual practice, film-making, performance and musical composition. The Ruskin is therefore only inviting expressions of interest from candidates wishing to undertake research projects in the history and theory of art.

More information about the scheme will be available in due course from the British Academy and on the Oxford Humanities Division website. NB There are strict eligibility requirements and potential candidates are advised to check these carefully.


Candidates who intend to apply for a BA PDF with the Ruskin School of Art as the host institution are asked to submit the expression of interest form to administrator@rsa.ox.ac.uk no later than 16 August 2021. You are also asked to arrange for a supervisor or another scholar to send a brief note of support to the same address by the same date. There is no guarantee that applications which arrive after this date will be processed. Please note that all applicants should have secured the agreement of a potential mentor within the School.