We use cookies to help give you the best experience on our website. By continuing without changing your cookie settings, we assume you agree to this. Please read ourprivacy policy

Arts Council England Helen Chadwick Fellowship

The Arts Council England Helen Chadwick Fellowship was established by the Ruskin School of Art and the British School at Rome to help emerging and established artists make new work by spending periods of time in Oxford and Rome. After visiting Italy for a one-month reconnaissance period, the artist devoted two months to research on their chosen topic in England before returning to Italy for three months of intensive studio-based production.

Helen Chadwick was one of Britain’s most respected contemporary artists. At the time of her premature death in 1996, she was an advisor to the Ruskin School Art and a member of the Faculty of the Fine Arts at the British School at Rome. Her rigorous approach to making art provided an ideal template for an award to artists for a carefully conceived programme of professional study.

The Fellowship was offered on an annual basis and artists were selected following a nationwide call for submissions.

  • 2010-2011 Elizabeth Price (final year of award)
  • 2009-2010 Tom Price
  • 2008-2009 Cath Keay
  • 2007-2008 Jonathan Allen
  • 2006-2007 Clara Ursitti
  • 2005-2006 William Cobbing
  • 2004-2005 Hayley Newman
  • 2003-2004 Claire Todd
  • 2002-2003 Sophy Rickett
  • 2001-2002 Aaron Williamson
  • 2000-2001 Annie Cattrell
  • 1999-2000 Stephen Nelson
  • 1998-1999 Pat Naldi
  • 1997-1998 Samantha Clark

Organised by the Ruskin School of Art and the British School at Rome in association with St Peter’s College, Oxford and St John’s College, Oxford and supported by funding from Arts Council England.